#1  
Old 11-05-2016, 07:36 AM
stanstar's Avatar
stanstar stanstar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Leith, Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 175
Default puzzle #28878861 clue error?

Only four clu 2GBes in this one about GB. One clue says Ottis is either 2GB ram or 384 GB hard drive. Ottis is both options but if that box is marked positive the puzzle is wrong.. Natsfan did it and if I remember mahnamahna or fromalabama was the record holder at 35secs. Neither of these 3 solvers commented on it so maybe I am mistaked.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2016, 12:17 PM
Mule's Avatar
Mule Mule is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 7
Default

As of this moment I have solved 11,420 puzzles without finding one with mistaken clues . There were times when I thought there was a mistake in the clues but closer examination always convinced me that I was in error and not the clues. Now when I think I see an error in the clues, I just look for the error in my logic .

Last edited by Mule; 11-05-2016 at 12:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2016, 07:12 AM
stanstar's Avatar
stanstar stanstar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Leith, Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 175
Default

Hi Mule, if I saw a man today with one ear and a wooden leg and you say you have seen twice as many people as I have and you haven't seen the same man. That doesn't mean that I am having illusions does it?

Stan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2016, 07:15 AM
stanstar's Avatar
stanstar stanstar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Leith, Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 175
Default

Is there a way where I can play that same puzzle again somewhere to check on it ? Maybe the printable puzzles?

Stan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2016, 05:07 PM
Mule's Avatar
Mule Mule is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanstar View Post
Hi Mule, if I saw a man today with one ear and a wooden leg and you say you have seen twice as many people as I have and you haven't seen the same man. That doesn't mean that I am having illusions does it?

Stan
No, that does not mean that you are having illusions . Nor does it mean that you are not having illusions as these are not mutually exclusive . Your argument is a classic non sequitur . The people you and I saw today are independent events.

In answer to your question about playing the same puzzle again , yes you can but only by playing that same size and difficulty until it comes up again. Once you've submitted a correct answer to a puzzle you can only access it again when it is assigned (which is done when you press the "Start this puzzle " button).

Now this is just a suggestion but what I and my one-eared, wooden legged friends do is resolve our doubts before we submit an answer . Of course this is only when we aren't busy making snarky comments to non sequiturs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2016, 09:16 AM
stanstar's Avatar
stanstar stanstar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Leith, Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 175
Default

Hi Mule thank you for your comments. I remember that a few days after the admins loaded all the new puzzles they asked us solvers to report any mistakes and I remember a few were indeed needing correction. Maybe my one was one of them although I did say in my first post that either mahnamahna or fromalabama was the record holder of that one with 30secs. They didn't mention any irregularity in the comments so maybe I was mistaken. I do remember that the last few options left Ottis was either one or other of the options left and when I pressed the positive button I had errors. There was only 2 boxes with the errors and I had to press the other one which didn't make sense. BTW the number of that puzzle is not the number I posted as I checked it. That number was one I had not completed.

Stan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2016, 03:32 AM
SaturnJune SaturnJune is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 10
Default

The thing to do in these situations is to take a screen shot of the puzzles before submitting. Therefore you can post it to the forums and get clarification if the clue is wrong or as mule said your logic is.
I have on occasion though a clue was wrong until I re-read and I had misread it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2016, 12:19 AM
postitnote's Avatar
postitnote postitnote is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanstar View Post
Is there a way where I can play that same puzzle again somewhere to check on it ? Maybe the printable puzzles?

Stan
It's too late now, but just for future reference, if you click on "Recent Games" at the top, it'll show you all the games you've started in the past 24 hours.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

About Puzzle Baron

The Puzzle Baron family of web sites has served millions and millions of puzzle enthusiasts since its inception in 2006. From cryptograms to acrostics, logic puzzles to drop quotes, patchwords to wordtwist and even sudoku, we run the gamut in word puzzles, printable puzzles and logic games.